A Prayer for the Crown-Shy: A Monk and Robot Book (Monk & Robot 2)

£9.9
FREE Shipping

A Prayer for the Crown-Shy: A Monk and Robot Book (Monk & Robot 2)

A Prayer for the Crown-Shy: A Monk and Robot Book (Monk & Robot 2)

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

There was no reason beyond impatience to continue pressing on in the dark, and though Dex was looking forward to being in a proper town again, stillness and rest sounded preferable in the moment. Dried salt and accumulated trail dust veritably peeled from their skin, running in grubby spirals into the greywater catch.

I’ve used the word utopian a lot, but I guess the setting would more accurately be described as aspirational. Sometimes it is nice to spend a couple of hours reading something where you know nothing terrible is going to happen and that everything will work out by the end. The following is not an original thought and I’m plagiarizing something I saw on Goodreads, but it holds true and is worth repeating: Becky Chambers’ A Prayer for the Crown-Shy is one of those books that when the Advance Readers Copy lands in your inbox, you drop everything and immediately read it for review purposes, forgetting that we’re still three-ish months away from its release date and there are other books I have on my plate that are coming up sooner than that.Whether that comes off as relaxing and comfortable or twee and saccharine is going to be largely dependent on the mood and preferences of the reader. For Sibling Dex, of course, this is literally true in terms of the setting itself (a utopia in all but name) but, for the reader, it’s a perfect of allegorical reflection of a very specific mental health moment. This tale propels us gently through an optimistic take on humanity, one that carefully considers our precious ecology and ethos, focusing more on giving to the community than getting. I used this series to get me out of a reading slump as they’re the perfect length and such a beautiful and hopeful read. A Prayer for the Crown-Shy is maybe less of a continuation in feel, and more of one that explores the flip side of the relationship between Dex and Mosscap.

So that isn’t really a complaint, just a random public confession about my intense feelings for robots. The first book in Chambers’ new series feels like a moment to breathe, a novel that exists to give readers a place to rest and think… Recommended for fans of Chambers’ Wayfarers series and The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune. Quiet and contemplative, empathic and warmhearted, this masterful sequel builds on the themes of the first volume to posit a more sustainable, more caring way of life.

Becky Chambers was raised in California as the progeny of an astrobiology educator, an aerospace engineer, and an Apollo-era rocket scientist.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop